The Poet Librarian.

January 10, 2011 § 4 Comments

Dear Reader,

I hope that if you are reading this it means you love words as much as I do. I want this to be a place where I can pour out my intense admiration for all things written (and yet to be written). I want this to be a place where you can participate in that joy, too.

If you want specifics before you read more, here are a few things you can expect to find here:

1. Book reviews (of all types)

2. My thoughts on being a fledgling writer (click here for more information)

3. Poetry

4. Miscellaneous forms of written inspiration

5. Penguins*

I hope you’ll dive in with me.

Sincerely, Marissa

 

*Not really. But five is a good number for a list.

§ 4 Responses to The Poet Librarian.

  • Love your writing!!! Beautiful, deep and insightful…

    I went to school with you, by the way… a year ahead I think.

    I’ve been attempting the freelance writing thing for awhile, but I’m only a non-fiction girl right now. Everytime I try fiction I hit a wall. Non-fiction is a little boring, but I’d like to think that I could be helping someone find the information they are seeking.

    Anyhow, keep writing… you’re awesome!

    • Thanks. It’s always good to hear from a fellow HHS grad!

      I know what you mean about freelancing. But I’m always hearing about how it’s a good idea to start out in non-fiction. And it’s so awesome that we live in an age where non-fiction writing is really coming of age and doesn’t have to be boring–just think about being a freelance non-fiction writer fifty years ago compared to today’s market. Makes me feel good!

      • I do agree there. Non-fiction is quite a bit more interesting now, especially since the topics are nearly limitless, and the market is huge. I have heard from many people that they are making a living from non-fiction freelance writing, which then enables them to pursue other writing dreams, like the ultimate novel. Now, there is a goal… and for today’s writers, it is much more attainable, and it does feel good!

  • Rachel says:

    I’m so excited for this blog! Especially the addition of penguins! 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Poet Librarian. at The Poet Librarian.

meta

